Russell heads morning running on Day 3 of Le Castellet

English News

Written by: – George Russell claimed the best time of the morning session on Day 3 of FIA Formula 2 pre-season testing at Le Castellet, France, ahead of ART Grand Prix teammate Jack Aitken with a 1:42.396 lap.

As teams sought to make the most of the remaining time available on the last day of testing, Arjun Maini was first on the scene at the start of the day. The Trident driver was followed onto the circuit by both ART drivers and teammate Santino Ferrucci, as the rest of the field filtered onto the track for an early flurry of activity.

Roy Nissany (Campos Vexatec Racing) brought out the first red flag after 20 minutes of running having stopped on the Mistral Straight. At this stage, Russell headed the standings with a medium tyre benchmark in the 1m43s, and after the session restarted the British driver began to trade best times with teammate Aitken. Although the latter held the advantage after the first hour, Russell soon recouped his position at the top by the midway point of the session.

Two further red flags were shown during the second hour of the session; Antonio Fuoco stopped on the circuit for the first, while RUSSIAN TIME’s Artem Markelov and Ralph Boschung (MP Motorsport) came to a halt within seconds of each other for the second.

Luca Ghiotto (Campos) led the field out as the session quickly restarted, as the drivers spent the rest of the morning getting stuck into their long-run programs. Russell’s time remained impenetrable, as the teams focused on race pace for the remainder, with Aitken finishing second just under two tenths shy of his teammate. Between them, the ART duo clocked in over 100 laps, with Aitken managing 56 of them.

Nyck De Vries (PERTAMINA PREMA Theodore Racing) was third fastest ahead of DAMS’ Alexander Albon, as Louis Delétraz of Charouz Racing System completed the top five. Sergio Sette Camara (Carlin) was sixth fastest ahead of teammate Lando Norris, as Maximilian Günther and Nirei Fukuzumi of BWT Arden finished eighth and ninth respectively. Replacing Oliver Rowland at DAMS for the third day of running, Daniel Ticktum rounded out the top 10.

  Driver Team Laptime Laps
1 George Russell ART Grand Prix 1:42.396 47
2 Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 1:42.588 56
3 Nyck De Vries PERTAMINA PREMA Theodore Racing 1:42.759 32
4 Alexander Albon DAMS 1:42.925 49
5 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System 1:43.239 43
6 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1:43.269 25
7 Lando Norris Carlin 1:43.287 29
8 Maximilian Gunther BWT Arden 1:43.350 35
9 Nirei Fukuzumi BWT Arden 1:43.501 28
10 Daniel Ticktum DAMS 1:43.503 43
11 Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1:43.575 41
12 Sean Gelael PERTAMINA PREMA Theodore Racing 1:43.731 31
13 Luca Ghiotto Campos Vexatec Racing 1:43.755 30
14 Arjun Maini Trident 1:43.851 40
15 Antonio Fuoco Charouz Racing System 1:43.899 25
16 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 1:43.948 26
17 Roy Nissany Campos Vexatec Racing 1:44.048 35
18 Tadasuke Makino RUSSIAN TIME 1:44.164 46
19 Santino Ferrucci Trident 1:44.239 48
20 Roberto Merhi MP Motorsport 1:44.377 49

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *